4th National Water Awards

1 min read
4th National Water Awards Blog Image


The Vice President of India will confer upon the fourth National Water Awards in New Delhi on 17th June 2023.

About the 4th National Water Awards:

  • The first edition of the National Water Awards was introduced by the Department of Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation in 2018.
  • They have provided a good opportunity for start-ups as well as leading organizations to engage and deliberate with senior policymakers on how to adopt the best water resources management practices in India.
  • These awards have been instituted to recognize and encourage exemplary work and efforts made by States, Districts, individuals, organizations, etc across the country in attaining the vision of a ‘Jal Samriddh Bharat’.
  • It covers 11 categories Best State’, ‘Best District’, ‘Best Village Panchayat’, ‘Best Urban Local Body’ etc.
  • The award winners in different categories will be given a citation, trophy and cash prize.
  • The cash prizes for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd rank winners are Rs.2 lakhs, Rs.1.5 lakhs, and Rs.1 lakh, respectively.
  • Nodal Ministry: Ministry of Jal Shakti.


Q1) What is Jal Samriddh Bharat?

The concept of "Jal Samriddh Bharat" emphasizes the need for comprehensive water conservation, management, and rejuvenation measures. It aims to address issues such as water conservation, rainwater harvesting, watershed development, groundwater recharge, and efficient water use.

Source: Vice President Jagdeep Dhankhar to confer 4th National Water Awards in New Delhi