Amazon Cooperation Treaty Organization

1 min read
Amazon Cooperation Treaty Organization Blog Image


Recently, in the Brazilian city of Belem, the members of the Amazon Cooperation Treaty Organization sought to chart a common course on how to combat climate change.

About Amazon Cooperation Treaty Organization:


  • It is an intergovernmental organization formed by the eight Amazonian countries by signing the Amazon Cooperation Treaty (ACT).
  • The Amazon Cooperation Treaty was drafted and signed on July 3, 1978.
  • In 1995, the eight nations decided to create the Amazon Cooperation Treaty Organization (ACTO), to strengthen and implement the objectives of the Amazon Cooperation Treaty.
  • Member countries: Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Peru, Suriname, and Venezuela.
  • It was founded to promote the preservation of the Amazon basin and regulate Amazonian development through international cooperation. 
  • It is the only socio-environmental block in Latin America.
  • It works in different dimensions within the framework of the implementation of the ACT: political-diplomatic, strategic, and technical, building synergies among governments etc.
  • It has four official languages: Dutch, English, Portuguese, and Spanish.
  • The Directorate of the Permanent Secretariat and the coordination of the projects plan and execute their activities in close collaboration and through consultations with the Member Countries.


Key facts about Amazon Rainforest

  • It is a large tropical rainforest occupying the drainage basin of the Amazon River and its tributaries in northern South America.
  • It is bounded by the Guiana Highlands to the north, the Andes Mountains to the west, the Brazilian central plateau to the south, and the Atlantic Ocean to the east.


Q1) What is a tropical rainforest?

A tropical rainforest is a lush and biodiverse biome characterized by dense vegetation, high rainfall, and warm temperatures throughout the year. These ecosystems are found in equatorial regions near the Earth's equator, where the climate remains relatively consistent in terms of temperature and daylight hours.

Source: Amazon nations seek common voice on climate change, urge developed world to help protect rainforest