What is Angkor Wat?


10:10 AM

1 min read
What is Angkor Wat? Blog Image


Angkor Wat temple, located in Cambodia, has defeated Pompeii in Italy to become the eighth Wonder of the World.

About Angkor Wat

  • It is the largest religious monument in the world.
  • It was built by the Khmer King Suryavarman II in the first half of the 12th century.
  • It was originally dedicated to the Hindu god Vishnu before becoming a Buddhist temple by the end of the 12th century.
  • In 1992, the temple complex was named a UNESCO World Heritage site.
  • Features:
    • Sandstone blocks were used to build the structure. 
    • It is protected by a 15-foot high wall and a wide moat.
    • It covers an area of 200 acres.
    • The temple has five major towers symbolising the peaks of Mount Meru, believed to be the abode of the gods in Hindu and Buddhist mythology.
    • Thousands of bas-reliefs depicting important deities and figures in Hindu and Buddhist religions, as well as key events in their narrative traditions, adorn the temple walls.
  • Where is Angkor Wat?
    • It is located in the northwestern province of Siem Reap in Cambodia.
    • The city of Angkor, home to Angkor Wat, was the capital of the Khmer Empire and thrived between the 9th and 15th centuries.
    • Angkor itself stretched over 400km² and is now home to the magnificent remains of a variety of temples, including Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom, Bayon Temple, and Ta Prohm.

Q1) What is a UNESCO World Heritage Site?

A World Heritage site is a landmark or area with legal protection by an international convention administered by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO). World Heritage sites are designated by UNESCO for having cultural, historical, scientific or other forms of significance. The sites are judged to contain “cultural and natural heritage around the world considered being of outstanding value to humanity.

Source: Angkor Wat temple in Cambodia becomes 8th wonder of the world, defeats Italy's Pompeii