Aravalli Range

1 min read
Aravalli Range Blog Image


A seven-member team called the "Aravalli Rejuvenation Board" was recently formed to curb illegal mining in the protected Aravallis region.

About Aravalli Range:


  • It is one of the oldest fold mountains of the world.
  • It runs approximately 670 km (430 mi) in a south-west direction, starting near Delhi, passing through southern Haryana and Rajasthan, and ending in Gujarat.
  • The highest peak is Guru Shikhar at 1,722 metres (5,650 ft). Guru is a peak in the Arbuda Mountains of Rajasthan.
  • Rivers: Three major rivers and their tributaries flow from the Aravalli, namely Banas and Sahibi rivers which are tributaries of Yamuna, as well as Luni River which flows into the Rann of Kutch. 
  • Formation:
    • It is part of the Aravalli-Delhi orogenic belt, which is a large and complex geological structure formed due to the collision of tectonic plates during the Proterozoic era.
    • It is part of the Indian Shield that was formed from a series of cratonic collisions.
    • In ancient times, Aravalli were extremely high but since have worn down almost completely by millions of years of weathering. 
  • The range is rich in mineral resources like copper, zinc, lead, and marble.
  • It is divided into two sections: the Sambhar-Sirohi ranges, taller and including Guru Shikhar; and the Sambhar-Khetri ranges, consisting of three ridges that are discontinuous.


Q1) What is a fold mountain?

A fold mountain is a type of mountain that forms when rock layers are subjected to compressive forces, causing them to bend and buckle. These mountains are created through the process of tectonic plate movements, specifically when two tectonic plates collide. The collision pushes the Earth's crust upwards, leading to the formation of large, elongated mountain ranges with a series of parallel ridges and valleys.

Source: Aravalli Rejuvenation Board formed to curb illegal mining in Aravallis