ASEAN Consensus on Myanmar

1 min read
ASEAN Consensus on Myanmar Blog Image


Indonesian Foreign Minister recently said India and other countries should “respect” and follow the ASEAN’s policy on Myanmar rather than taking a “different path.

ASEAN’s Five Points Consensus:

  • It states that there shall be an immediate cessation of violence in Myanmar.
  • All parties shall exercise utmost restraint; constructive dialogue among all parties concerned shall commence to seek a peaceful solution in the interests of the people.
  • A special envoy of the ASEAN Chair shall facilitate mediation of the dialogue process, with the assistance of the secretary-general of ASEAN.
  • ASEAN shall provide humanitarian assistance through the AHA Centre (ASEAN Coordinating Centre for Humanitarian Assistance on disaster management).
  • The special envoy and delegation shall visit Myanmar to meet with all parties concerned.


What is ASEAN?

  • It is a group of   Association of Southeast Asian Nations, which was established in 1967 with the signing of the Bangkok declaration.
  • Founding members: Indonesia, Malaysia,Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.
  • Presently ASEAN comprises 10 member states namely Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei, Laos, Myanmar, Cambodia and Vietnam.
  • It promotes intergovernmental cooperation and facilitates economic, political, security, military, educational, and sociocultural integration between its members and other countries in Asia.


Q1) What is the ASEAN Way?

ASEAN countries have celebrated what has become known as the 'ASEAN Way', a form of interaction that is informal, non- confrontationist and cooperative. Respect for national sovereignty is critical to the functioning of ASEAN.

Source: The Hindu