ASEAN-India Friendship Year

1 min read
ASEAN-India Friendship Year Blog Image


The year 2022 has been declared as the ASEAN-India Friendship year, as ASEAN and India commemorate 30 years of partnership.

About ASEAN-India Friendship Year:

  • ASEAN stands for the Association of Southeast Asian Nations.
  • It is a political and economic union of 10 Asian countries aimed at promoting the economic growth, political stability of individual countries, and regional stability among its members.
  • Apart from economic and political growth it also focuses on social progress, social-cultural evolution among member countries, and provision of mechanisms and strategies to resolve differences peacefully.
  • History: It was formed in 1967, by Thailand, Singapore, Philippines, Malaysia, and Indonesia. Membership has been extended to include Vietnam, Burma/Myanmar, Laos, Cambodia, and Brunei.
  • It includes eight dialogue partners -- India, China, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Australia, New Zealand, the United States and Russia.
  • Secretariat: Jakarta, Indonesia.

Source : All India Radio