Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

1 min read
Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Blog Image


Prime Minister recently arrived in Indonesia to attend the ASEAN-India and the East Asia summits.

About Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN):

  • It is a regional intergovernmental organization of ten Southeast Asian countries.
  • It was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand, with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration).
  • Member States: Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei, Laos, Myanmar, Cambodia and Vietnam.
  • It promotes intergovernmental cooperation and facilitates economic, political, security, military, educational, and sociocultural integration between its members and other countries in Asia.
  • Secretariat: The ASEAN Secretariat, located in Jakarta, Indonesia, and led by a secretary-general, coordinates the work of ASEAN member states and their associated bodies. 
  • Functioning:
    • It is headed by a chair—a position that rotates annually among member states.
    • Important decisions are usually reached through consultation and consensus guided by the principles of noninterference in internal affairs and peaceful resolution of conflicts.


What is East Asia Summit?

  • It is a unique Leaders-led forum of 18 countries of the Asia-Pacific region formed to further the objectives of regional peace, security and prosperity.
  • Established in 2005, EAS allows the principal players in the Asia-Pacific region to discuss issues of common interest and concern, in an open and transparent manner, at the highest level.
  • The membership of EAS consists of ten ASEAN Member States, Australia, China, India, Japan, New Zealand, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation and the USA.
  • EAS is an initiative of ASEAN and is based on the premise of the centrality of ASEAN.


Q1) What is RCEP?

The Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) is a comprehensive free trade agreement being negotiated between the 10 ASEAN Member States and ASEAN's free trade agreement (FTA) partners viz. Australia, China, India, Japan, Korea and New Zealand.

Source: PM Modi arrives in Indonesia to attend Asean-India, East Asia Summits