Bharat NCAP (New Car Assessment Programme)

1 min read
Bharat NCAP (New Car Assessment Programme) Blog Image


Recently, the union Minister of Road Transport and Highways launched the Bharat New Car Assessment Programme (Bharat NCAP) in New Delhi.

About Bharat NCAP(New Car Assessment Programme)


  • It is a significant step forward in the government’s commitment to improve road safety by raising the safety standards of motor vehicles up to 3.5 tonnes in India.
  • The programme aims to provide a tool to the car customers to make a comparative assessment of crash safety of motor vehicles available in the market.
  • Under this programme, car manufacturers can voluntarily offer their cars tested as per Automotive Industry Standard (AIS) 197.
  • Based on the performance of the car in the tests, car will be awarded star ratings for Adult Occupants (AOP) and Child Occupant (COP).
  • To receive a 5-star rating, a vehicle needs at least 27 points in adult occupant protection and requires 41 points in child occupant protection.
  • These protocols are in line with Global NCAP norms when it comes to crash testing.
  • Three tests including offset deformable barrier frontal impact test, side impact test, and pole side impact test -- would determine the crashworthiness of the vehicles.
  • It would also mandate the installation of six airbags, electronic stability control (ESC), three-point seatbelts for every passenger, improved emergency braking systems, etc
  • For Bharat NCAP, the frontal crash test will be conducted at a speed of 64km/h. On the other hand, the side and pole-side impact tests will be done at 50km/h and 29km/h
  • These norms will also be applicable for testing and rate CNG and EVs based on their performance.
  • Unlike Global NCAP, Bharat NCAP will give a unified rating for the vehicles, combining crash test results for adults and children alike.


Q1) What is Electronic Stability Control?

Electronic Stability Control (ESC), also known as Electronic Stability Program (ESP) is a technology designed to enhance a vehicle's stability and prevent loss of control in challenging driving conditions. It uses a combination of sensors, control systems, and brakes to help the driver maintain control of the vehicle during situations where it might skid, slide, or lose traction.

Source: Shri Nitin Gadkari launches Bharat NCAP(New Car Assessment Programme)