Bharat New Car Assessment Programme (Bharat NCAP)

1 min read
Bharat New Car Assessment Programme (Bharat NCAP) Blog Image


The first round of crash testing of the cars under the Bharat New Car Assessment Programme (Bharat NCAP) has been successfully completed recently.

About Bharat New Car Assessment Programme (Bharat NCAP)

  • It is an indigenous star-rating system for crash testing cars, under which vehicles will be assigned between one to five stars, indicating their safety in a collision. 
  • Bharat NCAP is an ambitious joint project between the Government of India (GoI) and Global NCAP, the regulatory body behind the safety crash test ratings.
  • Objective: To help consumers make an informed decision before purchasing a car, thereby spurring demand for safer cars.
  • Under the Bharat NCAP, cars voluntarily nominated by automobile manufacturers will be crash tested as per protocols laid down in the Automotive Industry Standard (AIS) 197.
  • Applicability:
    • The programme is applicable to passenger vehicles with not more than eight seats in addition to the driver’s seat, with a gross vehicle weight not exceeding 3,500 kg.
    • Only the base model of a particular variant will be tested.
    • Besides internal combustion engine (ICE) models, CNG cars as well as battery-powered electric vehicles are eligible to undergo the safety test.
  • Assignment of rating:
    • Vehicles tested under the Bharat NCAP are evaluated across three critical safety domains: adult occupant protection, child occupant protection, and safety assist technologies.
    • The test program is based on the AIS-197 standards. The selected test units will be sent to the nearest testing centre in coordination with the Central Institute of Road Transport (CIRT).
    • Each car will go through five key tests: frontal impact, side impact, side pole impact, electronic stability control, and pedestrian-compliant front design. 
    • The tests will be performed with crash dummies and will also rate the safety features of cars.
    • Following these tests, cars receive a rating of one to five stars, reflecting their safety performance.
    • In contrast to Global NCAP's separate Adult Occupant Protection (AOP) and Child Occupant Protection (COP) ratings, Bharat NCAP will offer a unified rating.
  • It is a voluntary programme under which the cost of the car for assessment for star rating and the cost of such assessment are borne by the respective vehicle manufacturer or importer.
  • Unlike in other countries where the NCAP is carried out by non-government entities, there will be a Bharat NCAP Authority in India. The authority will also host the safety ratings of all new car models on a website for public knowledge.
  • Though it will be optional for the vehicle manufacturers to submit their cars for an assessment, the central government can also ask the authority to select a particular variant of a model for assessment "in interest of public safety" at any of the designated crash test centres. 

Q1) What is Global NCAP?

The Global New Car Assessment Programme (Global NCAP) is a major project of the Towards Zero Foundation which is a UK registered charity. It serves as a platform for co-operation among new car assessment programmes worldwide and promotes the universal adoption of the United nation’s most important motor vehicle safety standards worldwide. 

Source: Bharat NCAP completes maiden round of crash tests, results expected later this month