British Academy Book Prize

1 min read
 British Academy Book Prize Blog Image


Recently, India-born author Nandini Das has been named the winner of the 2023 British Academy Book Prize.

About British Academy Book Prize

  • This was formerly known as the Nayef Al-Rodhan Prize.
  • It was established in 2013.
  • It was established to reward and celebrate the best works of non-fiction that demonstrate rigour and originality and have contributed to public understanding of other world cultures and their interaction.
  • The British Academy is the UK’s national academy for humanities and social sciences,
  • The eligible books come from the subjects that fall within those disciplines, from archaeology, history and psychology to philosophy, languages and cultural studies.
  • Nandini Das who is a Professor in the English faculty at the University of Oxford, won the award for her book ‘Courting India: England, Mughal India and the Origins of Empire’
  • The winner gets the £25,000 Prize cash award and each of the shortlisted works will receive £1,000 each.

Q1) What is Culture?

It is a complex and multifaceted system of shared beliefs, values, customs, traditions, behaviors, and ways of life that are developed and maintained by groups of people over time. Culture encompasses various aspects of human societies, and it plays a significant role in shaping individual and collective identities.

Source: India-born author Nandini Das won the 2023 British Academy Book Prize.