Bureau of Civil Aviation Security

1 min read
Bureau of Civil Aviation Security Blog Image


Bureau of Civil Aviation Security (BCAS) to issue technical norms for new security technology to screen cabin bags in airports.

About Bureau of Civil Aviation Security (BCAS):

  • The Bureau of Civil Aviation Security (BCAS) was initially set up as a Cell in the Directorate General of Civil Aviation in January 1978 on the recommendation of the Pande Committee.
  • The BCAS was reorganised into an independent department under the Ministry of Civil Aviation on 1st April, 1987.
  • The main responsibilities of BCAS include laying down standards and measures with respect to security of civil flights at international and domestic airports in India.
  • It has got four Regional Offices located at International airports i.e. Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata and Chennai.


  • Laying down Aviation Security Standards in accordance with Annex 17 to Chicago Convention of ICAO for airport operators, airlines operators, and their security agencies responsible for implementing AVSEC measures.
  • Monitoring the implementation of security rules and regulations and carrying out survey of security needs.
  • Ensure that the persons implementing security controls are appropriately trained and possess all competencies required to perform their duties.
  • Planning and coordination of Aviation security matters.
  • Surprise/Dummy checks to test professional efficiency and alertness of security staff.
  • Mock exercise to test efficacy of Contingency Plans and operational preparedness of the various agencies.


Q1) What is ICAO?

International Civil Aviation Organisation is a specialised agency of the United Nations funded and directed by 193 national governments to support their diplomacy and cooperation in air transport as signatory states to the Chicago Convention (1944).

Source: New scanners to speed up security check at airports