Bureau of Indian Standards

1 min read
Bureau of Indian Standards Blog Image


The Union Minister of State for Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution, recently informed that to date 21,890 Standards for products, process specifications, service sectors, code of practice, and methods of test terminology have been published by the BIS.

About the Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS):

Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS), the National Standards Body of India established under the BIS Act 2016.

  • Objective: Harmonious development of the activities of standardisation, and quality assurance of goods and articles.
  • It works under the Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution.
  • BIS represents India in International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC).

What is ISO?

  • It is an independent, non-governmental international organization with a membership of 167 national standard bodies.
  • Through its members, it brings together experts to share knowledge and develop voluntary, consensus-based, market-relevant International Standards that support innovation and provide solutions to global challenges.

What is IEC?

  • The IEC is a global, not-for-profit membership organization, whose work underpins quality infrastructure and international trade in electrical and electronic goods.
  • The IEC brings together more than 170 countries and provides a global, neutral and independent standardization platform to 20 000 experts globally.
  • It administers 4 Conformity assessment systems whose members certify that devices, systems, installations, services and people work as required.


Q1)  How many standards are there in BIS?

There are around 20,000 standards formulated by BIS so far through about 1,000 technical committees involving around more than 15,000 experts.

Source: Bureau of Indian Standards published 21,890 standards for products, process specification, service sectors, code of practice and methods of test terminology