Collective Security Treaty Organisation

1 min read
Collective Security Treaty Organisation Blog Image


Recently, the Prime Minister of Armenia said that his country has frozen its participation in the Russian-led Collective Security Treaty Organisation (CSTO) because the bloc had failed the country.

About Collective Security Treaty Organisation

  • It is an intergovernmental military alliance in Eurasia, which was established in 2002.
  • Members of the organization at present are: Russia, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Tajikistan.
  • Background
    • The Collective Security Treaty (CST) was signed on May 15, 1992 in Tashkent by the Heads of six countries: Armenia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. Subsequently, Azerbaijan, Georgia and Belarus joined it.
    • The treaty came into force on April 20, 1994.
    • On May 14, 2002, in Moscow, the Collective Security Council made a decision to grant the status of an international regional organization to the Collective Security Treaty.
  • In 2004 the UN General Assembly adopted a resolution granting the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) an observer status in the UN General Assembly.
  • The statutory bodies of the Organization are: the Collective Security Council (CSC), the Council of Foreign Ministers (COM), the Council of Ministers of Defense (CIO), the Committee of Secretaries of Security Council (CSSC).
  • The key objectives of the CSTO include
    • The provision of national and collective security, intensive politico-military cooperation, foreign policy coordination on international and regional security issues, the establishment of multilateral cooperation mechanisms, including a military component, the development of cooperation in the counteraction to modern challenges and security threats.
  • Headquarter: Moscow, Russia

Q1) What is NATO?

It was formed in 1949 with the signing of the Washington Treaty, NATO is a security alliance of 31 countries from North America and Europe. Its fundamental goal is to safeguard the Allies’ freedom and security by political and military means.

Source: Armenia freezes participation in Russia-led security bloc - Prime Minister