Delimitation for assembly and Parliamentary constituencies in Assam

1 min read
Delimitation for assembly and Parliamentary constituencies in Assam Blog Image


Recently, the Election Commission of India said that it has begun the process of delimitation of Assembly and Parliamentary constituencies in Assam.

Why in news?

  • The Delimitation process in Assam will be based on Census data from 2001. The last delimitation of constituencies in Assam was done in 1976 based on the 1971 Census.

Who carries out delimitation?

  • Delimitation is carried out by an independent Delimitation Commission, appointed by the Government of India under provisions of the Delimitation Commission Act.
  • Under Article 82, Parliament is to enact a Delimitation Act after every Census. Once the Act is in force, the Union government sets up the Delimitation Commission.
  • The Commission is supposed to determine the number and boundaries of constituencies in a way that the population of all seats, so far as practicable, is the same. The Commission is also tasked with identifying seats reserved for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes.
  • It works in collaboration with the Election Commission of India.
  • The commission is composed of: a retired Supreme Court judge, the Chief Election Commissioner of India and respective State Election Commissioners.
  • In the history of the Indian republic, Delimitation Commissions have been set up four times:1952, 1963, 1973 and 2002 under the Acts of 1952, 1962, 1972 and 2002.


Q1) Is Delimitation Commission a constitutional body or statutory body?

Delimitation commission is neither a constitutional body nor a statutory body but the orders issued by delimitation commission cannot be challenged in any court.

Source: Election Commission begins ‘delimitation’ in Assam: What this exercise is, why it is important