What are the Emmy Awards?

1 min read
What are the Emmy Awards? Blog Image


Recently, comedian Vir Das won an International Emmy Award for his Netflix show Vir Das: Landing.

About Emmy Awards

  • The Emmy Awards are the most renowned accolades given to television and emerging media performances. Unlike Oscars and Golden Globe awards, they aren’t given for films.
  • These were conceived in 1948 and the first ceremony took place on January 25, 1949.
  • A total of six awards were presented, such as the Most Outstanding Television Personality and Most Popular Television Program.
  • Apart from the International Emmy Awards and the Primetime Emmy Awards, the Emmys are also given in the following categories: daytime, sports, news and documentary, technology and engineering, and regional.
  • While Primetime Emmy Awards honour television shows produced only in America and aired during primetime, International Emmy Awards are for international shows.
  • Daytime Emmy Awards are given to American shows aired during late-morning and afternoon. Regional Emmy Awards are for regional television markets, including state-to-state programming, local news and locally produced shows.
  • These awards are given by three sister organizations:
    • First is the Television Academy, which administers the Primetime Emmy Awards.
    • Second is the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, which oversees daytime, sports, news and documentary categories.
    • Third is the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, which is responsible for International Emmys.
    • Each organisation maintains its own membership of television professionals who vote and decide who will get the award.

Q1) What is Documentary film?

It is a motion picture that shapes and interprets factual material for purposes of education or entertainment. Documentaries have been made in one form or another in nearly every country and have contributed significantly to the development of realism in films.

Source: Vir Das wins: What are the Emmy Awards and their different types?