Fatehpur Sikri

1 min read
Fatehpur Sikri Blog Image


A 61-year-old French tourist recently died inside the Fatehpur Sikri fort after she fell from a nine-feet-high platform following the collapse of a wooden railing.

About Fatehpur Sikri:

  • It is a city predominantly in red sandstone, situated at a distance of 37 km from Agra, Uttar Pradesh.
  • It was founded in 1569 by the great Mughal emperor Akbar, and from 1571 to 1585, Fatehpur Sikri was the capital of the Mughal Empire.
  • The Mughal capital was moved to Delhi in 1586 because of Fatehpur Sikri's inadequate water supply.
  • It was designated a UNESCO World Heritage site in 1986.
  • Architecture:
    • The structures in Fatehpur Sikri combine elements of Persian, Indian, and Central Asian styles.
    • The structures are made primarily of red sandstone, which gives the city its distinctive appearance.
    • It is enclosed by an 11 km long fortification wall interspersed with numerous gateways. 
    • Notable buildings in the complex include:
      • Jama Masjid: It is home to the Jama Masjid, one of the largest mosques in India. It is known for its imposing structure, graceful arches, and intricately designed prayer hall.
      • Buland Darwaza: This colossal gateway, also known as the "Gate of Magnificence," is an iconic monument of Fatehpur Sikri. It was built to commemorate Akbar's victorious campaign in Gujarat and is a grand example of Mughal architecture.
      • Diwan-i-Khas and Diwan-i-Aam: These are two prominent buildings within the complex. The Diwan-i-Khas (Hall of Private Audience) was where Akbar held private meetings, while the Diwan-i-Aam (Hall of Public Audience) was for conducting public affairs.
      • Panch Mahal: This five-storied palace is a unique structure with open pavilions on each level. It served as a place for relaxation and entertainment.


Q1) What is a UNESCO World Heritage site?

World Heritage Sites are cultural and/or natural sites considered to be of ‘Outstanding Universal Value’, which have been inscribed on the World Heritage List by the World Heritage Committee.The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) seeks to protect and preserve such sites through the Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage. This international treaty was drawn up in 1972.

Source: French tourist dies after falling from 9-feet-high platform inside Fatehpur Sikri fort