Five Eyes Intelligence-sharing Network


11:04 AM

1 min read
Five Eyes Intelligence-sharing Network Blog Image


Recently, 4 countries on 3 continents, which are part of the Five Eyes intelligence-sharing network, accused India for running espionage operations and India has denied the allegations.

About Five Eyes Intelligence-sharing Network

  • It is a multilateral intelligence-sharing network shared by over 20 different agencies of five English-speaking countries — Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the United States.
  • It is both surveillance-based and signals intelligence (SIGINT).
  • Its genesis lies in the post-war 1946 UKUSA Agreement, intended as a cooperative arrangement for sharing signals intelligence (SIGINT).
  • Over time, this partnership has extended its reach, becoming an integral part of global intelligence and security operations.
  • Intelligence documents shared between the members countries are classified as ‘Secret—AUS/CAN/NZ/UK/US Eyes Only,’ which gave the group its title ‘Five Eyes.
  • Its scope was limited to “communication intelligence matters only” related to “unrestricted” exchange of intelligence products in six areas:
  • Collection of traffic; acquisition of communication documents and equipment; traffic analysis; cryptanalysis; decryption and translation; and acquisition of information regarding communication organisations, practices, procedures, and equipment.
  • The arrangement was later extended to ‘second party’ countriesCanada joined in 1948, while Australia and New Zealand became part of the alliance in 1956. 

Q1: What is 'Decryption?

The conversion of encrypted data into its original form is called Decryption. It is generally a reverse process of encryption. It decodes the encrypted information so that an authorized user can only decrypt the data because decryption requires a secret key or password.

Source:In the world of spycraft, why national interest trumps all