G7 Ministers Meet

1 min read
G7 Ministers Meet Blog Image


Recently, the G7 countries pledged to quit fossil fuels faster and urged other countries to follow suit, but failed to agree to any new deadlines on ending polluting power sources like coal.

About G7: 

  • It is an intergovernmental organisation of leading industrialised nations formed in 1975.
  • Member countries: Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom and the United State.
  • It meets annually to discuss issues such as global economic governance, international security, and energy policy.
  • The host of the G7 summit, also known as the presidency, rotates annually among member countries.
  • It was formerly referred to as the G-8 until Russia was suspended from the group in 2014 after annexing Crimea.
  • As of 2022, G7 countries make up 10% of the world’s population, 31% of the global GDP, and 21% of global carbon dioxide emissions.


Q1)What is Governance?

Governance refers to the processes, systems, and institutions through which individuals and groups exercise authority and manage resources and affairs.

Source: G7 pledges to quit fossil fuels faster without a new deadline