Key Facts about Guru Nanak

1 min read
Key Facts about Guru Nanak Blog Image


The Prime Minister greeted people on the occasion of Guru Nanak Jayanti.

What is Guru Nanak Jayanti?

  • It is celebrated on the 15th lunar day of the Hindu month of Kartik.
  • It is one of the most important days of Sikhism and marks the birth anniversary of the first of the ten Sikh gurus and the founder of Sikhism, Guru Nanak Dev Ji.
  • The day honours the teachings and wisdom of Guru Nanak Dev Ji and also promotes unity, equality, and selfless service, embodying the core principles of Sikh philosophy.

About Guru Nanak

  • Guru Nanak (1469–1539), also referred to as Baba Nanak, was the founder of Sikhism and the first of the ten Sikh Gurus.
  • He was born on April 15, 1469, in Rai Bhoi di Talvandi, now Nankana Sahib, Pakistan.
  • Guru Nanak Dev spread the message of ‘Ek Omkar’ which means that God is one and is present everywhere. 
  • He propagated the idea that any person could connect with God by worshipping him with a clean conscience.
  • Guru Nanak laid the foundation for the three pillars of Sikhism: Naam Japna (meditating on God's name), Kirat Karni (honest and truthful living), and Vand Chakna (sharing with others, especially those in need).
  • He was a poet, a mystic, a philosopher, and a singer who denounced ritualism as well as discrimination against women and those of lower socioeconomic status.
  • Guru Nanak rejected the caste system and promoted the idea of equality among all people, regardless of their background, caste, or gender.
  • He introduced the concept of "Sangat"(community), where all could come together to worship.
  • All his teachings are composed together to form the sacred book called Guru Granth Sahib, the central holy religious scripture of Sikhism.

Q1) What is Guru Granth Sahib?

It is the most respected and sacred book of the Sikhs. It contains 5894 hymns, called Shabads, composed in 18 ragas (musical patterns). Out of these 5894 hymns, 976 are by Guru Nanak; 61 by Guru Angad; 907 by Guru AmarDas; 679 by Guru RamDas; 2216 by Guru Arjan; 118 by Guru Tegh Bahadur; and 937 by the 15 bhagats and bards. The 1430 pages of SGGS are divided into 33 sections.

Source: PM Modi Greets Nation On Guru Purab, Dev Deepavali