India Web Browser Development Challenge (IWBDC)

1 min read
India Web Browser Development Challenge (IWBDC) Blog Image


The Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY) recently launched the Indian Web Browser Development Challenge (IWBDC).

About India Web Browser Development Challenge (IWBDC)


  • The challenge is spearheaded by MeitY in collaboration with the Controller of Certifying Authorities (CCA) and the Centre for Development of Advanced Computing (C-DAC) Bangalore. 
  • The Challenge seeks to inspire and empower technology enthusiasts, innovators, and developers from all corners of the country to create an indigenous web browser
  • The desired browser will have its own trust store, use a root certificate from India's CCA, and offer cutting-edge functionalities and enhanced security & data privacy protection features.
  • As part of the challenge the government has announced a cash prize of Rs 3.4 crores for the developers.
  • Qualifications for Participants:
    • The Indian Tech Start-ups, MSMEs, Companies, and LLPs registered in India under the Companies Act 2013 can apply.
    • The entity must have at least 51% shareholding with Indian citizens or persons of Indian origin.
    • The applicant's entity should not be a subsidiary company of any foreign corporation.
    • Participants can apply either as “individuals” or “organization”. Members applying as “individuals” should have a minimum of 3 and a maximum of 7 members in their Group.
    • All other applicants (Startups, MSME, etc.) should apply under the “organization” category only.
  • Desired features in an Indian web browser: The ministry has also laid down the features desired in an Indian web browser.
    • It must be compatible with all platforms, including iOS, Android and Desktop.
    • It should offer built-in accessibility support.
    • The browser should also have the ability to digitally sign the documents using a crypto token.
    • It should also have parental control and a web filter for child-friendly browsing.
    • It should come with support for Web3 and compliance with W3C standards.
    • Lastly, it should also support all the official Indian languages.


Key Facts about Controller of Certifying Authorities (CCA):

  • The Information Technology Act 2000 (IT Act) provides for the CCA.
  • Function: To license and regulate the working of Certifying Authorities (CAs).
  • The CAs issue digital signature certificates for electronic authentication of users.
  • The CCA also maintains the National Repository of Digital Certificates (NRDC), which contains all the certificates issued by all the CAs in the country.
  • Its aim is to promote the growth of e-Commerce and e-Governance through a wide use of digital signatures.
  • The Controller of Certifying Authorities (CCA) is appointed by the Central Government under section 17 of the IT Act.


Q1) What are digital signatures?

A digital signature is a cryptographic technique used to authenticate the origin and integrity of electronic documents, messages, or data. It provides a way to ensure that a digital file or message has not been tampered with and that it comes from a legitimate source. Digital signatures are a crucial component of digital security, especially in contexts such as electronic transactions, contracts, and sensitive communications.

Source: MeitY launches Indian Web Browser Development Challenge