Indian Air Force (IAF) Ensign

1 min read
Indian Air Force (IAF) Ensign Blog Image


Indian Air Force (IAF) Chief Air Chief recently unveiled a new Ensign for the force.

About Indian Air Force (IAF) Ensign

  • Only the IAF Crest will be incorporated into the new IAF Ensign.
  • This crest prominently features the national symbol, the Ashoka Lion, at the top, with the words "Satyamev Jayate" in Devanagari script below it.
  • Beneath the Ashoka Lion is a Himalayan eagle with outstretched wings, symbolizing the fighting spirit of the IAF.
  • A ring in light blue colour encircles the Himalayan eagle with the words “Indian Air Force".
  • The IAF motto, derived from the Bhagavad Gita, "Nabha Sparsham Deeptam", meaning "touching the sky with glory," is inscribed below the Himalayan eagle in golden Devanagari.
  • IAF crest symbolises the source of inspiration and encouragement.
  • IAF has adopted various crests for commands, squadrons and the other establishments.
  • However, all the crests follow a standard frame, that contains the individual formation sign with a motto shown in the scroll at the foot of the frame. 
  • History:
  • During the British era, Indian Air Force was known as Royal Indian Air Force.
  •  Its ensign comprised of the Union Jack in the upper left canton and the RIAF roundel (Red, White & Blue) on the fly side.
  • Post-Independence, the Indian Air Force ensign was created by replacing the Union Jack with the Indian tricolour and the RAF roundels with the IAF tri-colour roundel in the lower right canton.

Q1: What is an Ensign?

An "ensign" refers to a flag or banner, especially one that is used as a symbol or emblem. Ensigns are often associated with military branches, organizations, or nations and are used to represent them. For example, the national flag of a country can be referred to as the national ensign.

Source: IAF Chief unveils new Ensign as the force marks 91st anniversary