Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA)

1 min read
Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA) Blog Image


Sri Lanka set to take over chairmanship of Indian Ocean Rim Association during 23rd Council of Ministers' Meeting.

About Indian Ocean Rim Association:

  • It was established in 1997 as an intergovernmental organisation of States on the rim of the Indian Ocean.
  • Member countries:
  • It has members from Africa, West Asia, South Asia, Southeast Asia ,Europe and Oceania.
  • The Association’s membership has expanded to 23 member states and 11 dialogue partners.
  • Asia: India, Bangladesh, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia, Maldives, Oman, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand, United Arab Emirates and Yemen.
  • Africa: Kenya, Madagascar, Mozambique, Somalia , South Africa, Tanzania, Comoros, Mauritius, Seychelles.
  • Oceania: Australia.
  • Europe: France
  • Its apex body is the Council of Foreign Ministers (COM) which meets annually.
  • IORA has identified six priority areas namely: Trade and Investment, Maritime Safety and Security, Fisheries Management, Disaster Risk Management and Blue Economy. 
  • The secretariat is based in Ebène Mauritius and is overseen by a secretary-general who is appointed for a three-year period.

Q1: What is the SAGAR initiative?

It is an important policy framework launched by the Indian government to address various aspects related to the Indian Ocean. SAGAR stands for "Security and Growth for All in the Region." It was unveiled as part of India's broader foreign policy strategy to engage with Indian Ocean rim countries and enhance India's presence and influence in the Indian Ocean region.

Source: Sri Lanka to take over as Chair of Indian Ocean Rim Association