Indira Gandhi Peace Prize

1 min read
Indira Gandhi Peace Prize Blog Image


Recently, the Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development 2022 was jointly awarded to the Indian Medical Association and the Trained Nurses Association of India as representatives of the COVID-19 warriors in the country.

About Indira Gandhi Peace Prize

  • The Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development was instituted in the memory of the former prime minister by a trust in her name in 1986.
  • It consists of a monetary award of 25 lakh rupees along with a citation.
  • The award is given to individuals or organisations who work towards ensuring international peace and development, ensuring that scientific discoveries are used to further the scope of freedom and better humanity, and creating a new international economic order.
  • Past recipients of this award include:
    • Mikhail Gorbachev, former leader of Soviet Union (1987);
    • UNICEF (1989)
    • Jimmy Carter, former president of the US (1997)
    • UN and its secretary-general Kofi Annan (2003)
    • Angela Merkel, chancellor of Germany (2013)
    • Indian Space Research Organisation (2014)
    • Former Prime Minister of India, Manmohan Singh (2017)
    • Sir David Attenborough (2019)
    • Pratham NGO (2021)

Q1) What is the Indian Medical Association ?

It is a national voluntary organisation of physicians in India. It was established in 1928 as the All India Medical Association, and was renamed the Indian Medical Association in 1930. It is a society registered under The Societies Act of India.

Source: Indira Gandhi Peace Prize presented to COVID-19 warriors