International Maritime Organisation (IMO)

1 min read
International Maritime Organisation (IMO) Blog Image


India has called for effective measures to resolve the issue of seafarer abandonment and ensuring the safety of the maritime workforce at the 132nd session of the Council of the International Maritime Organization (IMO) in London.

About International Maritime Organisation (IMO):

  • It is a United Nations (UN) specialized agency with responsibility for the safety and security of shipping and the prevention of marine and atmospheric pollution by ships.
  • It has an integral role in meeting the targets set out in UN Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) 14: Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas, and marine resources for sustainable development.
  • The IMO sets policies for international shipping and sets regulations on safety, security, and environmental best practices.
  • The IMO is not responsible for enforcing its policies; when a government accepts an IMO policy, that policy becomes a national law that is the government's responsibility to enforce.
  • It is also involved in legal matters, including liability and compensation issues and the facilitation of international maritime traffic.
  • Formation: It was established as the Inter-Governmental Maritime Consultative Organization (IMCO) in 1948, became a specialized agency of the United Nations in 1959, and was renamed the International Maritime Organization in 1982.
  • It currently has 174 member states.
  • Structure:
    • Assembly: It is the highest governing body of the IMO. It consists of all Member States, and it meets once every two years in regular sessions. The Assembly is responsible for approving the work program, voting the budget, and electing the Council.
    • Council: It is the Executive Organ of the IMO and is responsible, under the Assembly, for supervising the work of the Organization.
    • Committees: The five policy-making committees are responsible for the development, review, updating, and approval of the organization’s guidelines and regulations.
  • Funding for the IMO comes from contributions by member states, as well as voluntary donations and commercial activities.
  • Headquarters: London.

Q1: What are Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)?

The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, adopted by all United Nations Member States in 2015, provides a shared blueprint for peace and prosperity for people and the planet, now and into the future. At its heart are the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), which are an urgent call for action by all countries - developed and developing - in a global partnership. They recognize that ending poverty and other deprivations must go hand-in-hand with strategies that improve health and education, reduce inequality, and spur economic growth – all while tackling climate change and working to preserve our oceans and forests.

Source: India Raises Seafarer Abandonment Crisis At IMO; Secures Membership In Key Working Group