International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea

1 min read
International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea Blog Image


The International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea will hear a landmark case brought by a group of small island states seeking protection of the world's oceans from catastrophic climate change.

About International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea

  • It is an independent judicial body established by the 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea.
  • Composition
    • The Tribunal is composed of 21 independent members.
    • Members elected by secret ballot by the States Parties to the Convention.
    • Each State Party may nominate up to two candidates.
  • Jurisdiction
    • It has jurisdiction over any dispute concerning the interpretation or application of the Convention, and over all matters specifically provided for in any other agreement which confers jurisdiction on the Tribunal.
    • Disputes relating to the Convention may concern the delimitation of maritime zones, navigationconservation and management of the living resources of the sea, protection and preservation of the marine environment and marine scientific research.
    • The Tribunal is open to States Parties to the Convention (i.e. States and international organisations which are parties to the Convention).
    • It is also open to entities other than States Parties, i.e., States or intergovernmental organisations which are not parties to the Convention, and to state enterprises and private entities.
  • The seat of the Tribunal is in the City of Hamburg, Germany. 


Q1) What is  a tribunal?

A tribunal is a quasi-judicial institution that deals with the resolution of disputes pertaining to administration, taxation, environment, securities, etc. Tribunals in India are adjudicatory bodies that serve as an alternative to the traditional court system. 

Source: Small islands take ocean protection case to UN court