Key Features of India’s New Parliament Building

1 min read
Key Features of India’s New Parliament Building Blog Image


Twenty opposition parties recently issued a joint statement announcing a boycott of the inauguration of India’s new Parliament building.

Key Facts about India’s New Parliament Building:

  • The new Parliament, constructed on the lines of the Central Vista buildings, is a triangular structure.
  • It is built over an area of 64,500 square metres.
  • It houses the Lok Sabha, the Rajya Sabha, the Central Lounge and offices of constitutional authorities.
  • The Lok Sabha, based on the theme of the national bird 'peacock', will have a capacity of 888 seats.
  • The revamped Rajya Sabha hall, based on the theme of our national flower 'lotus', will have a capacity to seat 384 people.
  • In the new building, two members will be able to sit side by side on each bench in the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha Chambers. Each seat will be equipped with digital systems and touch screens.
  • The new building will have a Constitution Hall for the purpose of showcasing India's democratic heritage.
  • It will have large committee rooms, with the latest audio-visual systems.
  • There will be 92 rooms for the use of the Council of Ministers.
  • The new Parliament complex is also ‘divyang-friendly’.
  • With a focus on energy efficiency, the new complex is a “platinum-rated green building” and showcases India’s “commitment towards sustainable development. It will feature rainwater harvesting and water recycling systems.


Q1) What is Sengol?

Sengol is the Tamil word for sceptre which in medieval and pre-medieval times used to be presented to the kings during their coronation by the high priests. In 1947, during the time of transfer of power from the British to India, it was used as a symbolic gesture to show a ceremonial transfer of power from the British to Indians.

Source: Grand puja, Sengol installation, PM's address: Full schedule of new Parliament building inauguration