Key Facts about Laccadive Sea

1 min read
Key Facts about Laccadive Sea Blog Image


Three fish species that live in the Laccadive Sea off the southwest corner of the Indian coast, capable of using tools, were recently found.

About Laccadive Sea

  • The Laccadive Sea, also known as the Lakshadweep Sea, is a body of water bordering India (including its Lakshadweep islands), the Maldives, and Sri Lanka.
  • It is part of the Indian Ocean, the world's third-largest body of water.
  • Collectively, the Lakshadweep Sea is 303,476 square miles in area.
  • Boundaries:
    • To its south, the Lakshadweep Sea touches the Nine Degree Channel.
    • To its west, it meets the larger Indian Ocean that it is also a part of.
    • To the north, the Lakshadweep Sea meets the Arabian Sea (also part of the Indian Ocean), while to the northeast, it borders the Kerala state of India.
    • Along the more southern eastern portion of the Lakshadweep Sea, it meets the Maldives islands and Sri Lanka.
  • With an average depth of 6,329 feet, the Lakshadweep Sea is only half as deep as the average depth of the entire Indian Ocean.
  • This warm sea has a stable water temperature throughout the year and is rich in marine life; the Gulf of Mannar alone hosts about 3,600 species.
    • Considering the coral reefsof the Lakshadweep Sea alone, there are nearly 120 observed living species.
  • Major cities: Major cities along its shores include Trivandrum and Kochi in India, Quilon and Colombo in Sri Lanka, and Malé in the Maldives.

Related Topics:

Q1: What is a Gulf?

The Gulf is a portion of the sea that is almost surrounded by land except one narrow opening. Gulfs are formed when a giant rock collapses or when a piece of land sinks. This causes a big indentation in the area, and the water eventually fills it up. Gulfs are also formed through a natural process of erosion.

Source: Three new fish species spotted using tools in the Laccadive Sea