Key Facts about Lakshmana Tirtha River

1 min read
Key Facts about Lakshmana Tirtha River Blog Image


Due to severe drought conditions and intense heat, the Lakshmana Tirtha River, has now completely dried up.

About Lakshmana Tirtha River

  • It is a tributary of the river Kaveri in Karnataka.
  • Course:
    • It originates in the Brahmagiri hills, Kodagu or Coorg District, Karnataka, and flows eastward.
    • It joins the Kaveri Riverin the Krishna Raja Sagara Lake.
    • Total Length: 180 km
  • Lakshmanatirtha Falls, or the Irupu Falls, is a much-visited fresh water cascade located on the river, bordering Kerala, on the way to Nagerhole National Park.

Key Facts about Kaveri River

  • Kaveri River, also known as Cauvery River, is one of the major rivers of southern India, which is considered sacrosanct by the Hindus.
  • Course:
    • It rises at an elevation of 1,341 m at Talakaveri on the Brahmagiri range near Cherangala village of Kodagu district of Karnataka.
    • The river drains into the Bay of Bengal at Poompuhar, in the Mayiladuthurai district of Tamil Nadu.
  • Cauvery Basin:
    • It extends over the states of Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Kerala, and the Union Territory of Puducherry.
    • It is bounded by the Western Ghats on the west, by the Eastern Ghats on the east and south and by the ridges separating it from the Krishna basin and Pennar basin on the north.
  • Major left bank tributaries: Harangi, the Hemavati, the Shimsha, and the Arkavati.
  • Major right bank tributaries: Lakshmantirtha, the Kabbani, the Suvarnavati, the Bhavani, the Noyil, and the Amaravati.

Q1: Western Ghats traverse through which states?

A chain of mountains running parallel to India's western coast, approximately 30-50 km inland, the Ghats traverse the States of Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Goa, Maharashtra and Gujarat.

Source: Lakshmana Teertha river dries up due to shortage of rainfall