Liptako-Gourma Charter

1 min read
Liptako-Gourma Charter Blog Image


Recently, the military leaders of Mali, Burkina Faso and Niger signed a mutual defence pact, Liptako-Gourma Charter in Mali's capital Bamako.

About Liptako-Gourma Charter:

  • The Liptako-Gourma Charter establishes the Alliance of Sahel States (AES).
  • Its aim is to "establish an architecture of collective defence and mutual assistance for the benefit of population.
  • This alliance will be a combination of military and economic efforts between the three countries.
  • The charter binds the signatories to assist one another including militarily — in the event of an attack on any one of them.
  • It also binds the three countries to work to prevent or settle armed rebellions.


Liptako-Gourma region

  • It is the region where the Mali, Burkina Faso and Niger borders meet.
  • It has been ravaged by jihadist insurgency in recent years.


Key points about Alliance of Sahel States

  • The junta leaders of Mali, Burkina Faso and Niger signed a charter to establish a defence alliance known as the Alliance of Sahel States. 
  • Under this alliance any attack on one or more signatory states will be considered an attack on all signatories.
  • The alliance between three West African states, all ruled by military juntas and former French colonies.
  • These three countries were also the members of France-supported G5 Sahel alliance joint force with Chad and Mauritania being the other two allies. 


Q1) What is the G5 Sahel Alliance?

The G5 Sahel Alliance, often referred to as simply the G5 Sahel, is a regional organization in Africa that consists of five Sahelian countries. These countries have come together to address common challenges and security threats in the Sahel region of Africa, which is known for its instability, insecurity, and various transnational issues.

Source: Mali, Niger, Burkina sign mutual defence pact