Mount Kilimanjaro

1 min read
Mount Kilimanjaro Blog Image


Recently, the Union Information and Broadcasting Minister congratulated Anjali Sharma of Kangra district of Himachal Pradesh for conquering Mount Kilimanjaro in Africa, wearing Luanchari.

About Mount Kilimanjaro:

  • Mount Kilimanjaro is Africa’s tallest mountain and the world’s largest free-standing mountain (which means not part of a mountain range) located in Tanzania.
  • It has three main volcanic peaks namely: Kibo, Mawenzi, and Shira.
  • Amongst these three peaks, Kibo is the tallest of the three volcanic formations which is also a dormant volcano while the other two are extinct volcanoes.
  • The mountain is also known for its snow-capped peak.
  • The mountain has five main vegetation zones from the lowest to the highest point:  Lower slopes, montane forest, heath and moorland, alpine desert and summit. 
  • The Kilimanjaro National park was named a United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) World Heritage site in 1987. 

Key facts about Volcano

  • A volcano is an opening in a planet’s crust through which molten rock, hot gases, and other materials erupt.
  • Volcanoes often form a hill or mountain as layers of rock and ash build-up from repeated eruptions.
  • Volcanoes are classified as
    • Active volcanoes: These have a recent history of eruptions; they are likely to erupt again.
    • Dormant volcanoes: These have not erupted for a very long time but may erupt at a future time.
    • Extinct volcanoes: These are not expected to erupt in the future.


Q1) What is the alpine biome?

An alpine biome is an ecosystem that doesn’t contain trees due to its high altitude. These biomes are found in mountainous regions across the globe. Their elevation normally ranges between 10,000 feet (3,000 meters) and the area where a mountain’s snow line begins.

Source: Anurag Thakur congratulates Anjali Sharma for conquering Mount Kilimanjaro in Africa, wearing Luanchari