Nagarjunsagar-Srisailam Tiger Reserve (NSTR)

1 min read
Nagarjunsagar-Srisailam Tiger Reserve (NSTR) Blog Image


The National Tiger Conservation Authority (NTCA) recently raised concern that cattle grazing in the forest and illegal fishing in the backwaters of Srisailam and Nagarjunasagar dams are posing a big threat to tigers in Nagarjunsagar-Srisailam Tiger Reserve (NSTR).

About Nagarjunsagar-Srisailam Tiger Reserve (NSTR):


  • Location: It is located in the Nallamala hill ranges (an offshoot of the Eastern Ghats) of Andhra Pradesh and spreads across the undivided districts of Guntur, Prakasam and Kurnool.
  • It attained the status of a Tiger Reserve in 1983. 
  • This is the largest tiger reserve in the country, spreading over an area of 5937 Sq. Km.
  • It is named after two major dams in the area, Nagarjuna Sagar Dam and Srisailam Dam.
  • Two wildlife Sanctuaries, namely Rajiv Gandhi Wildlife Sanctuary and Gundla Brahmeswaram Wildlife Sanctuary (GBM), constitute the Tiger Reserve.
  • The river Krishna traverses through this Reserve for a linear distance of around 270 Kilometers.  
  • Topography: It consists of plateau, ridges, gorges and deep valleys.
  • Vegetation: Tropical dry deciduous forests having an undergrowth of bamboo and grass.
  • Flora: The habitat has several endemics like Andrographis nallamalayana, Eriolaena lushingtonii, Crotalaria madurensis Var, Dicliptera beddomei and Premna hamiltonii.
  • Fauna:
    • Top faunal species include Tiger, Leopard, Wolf, Wild Dog and Jackal.
    • The prey species are represented by Sambar, Chital, Chowsingha, Chinkara, Mouse Deer, Wild boar and Porcupine.
    • The river Krishna has Muggers, Otters and Turtles.


Q1) What is the National Tiger Conservation Authority (NTCA)?

The National Tiger Conservation Authority (NTCA) is a statutory body of the Government of India, established in 2005 under the Wildlife (Protection) Act, 1972. The primary objective of the NTCA is to ensure the conservation and protection of tigers and their habitats in the country.Further, as per the section 38 L, sub section 2 of the said Act, the authority consists of the Minister in charge of the Ministry of Environment and Forests ( as Chairperson), the Minister of State in the Ministry of Environment and Forests (as Vice-Chairperson), three members of Parliament, Secretary, Ministry of Environment and Forests and other members.

Source: Tribals, illegal fishing concern for AP tigers