National Florence Nightingale Awards 2021

1 min read
Mains: Current Affairs & Events
National Florence Nightingale Awards 2021 Blog Image

About National Florence Nightingale Awards 2021:

  • The National Florence Nightingale Awards were instituted in the year 1973 by the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare as a mark of recognition for the meritorious services rendered by nurses and nursing professionals to society.
  • The award is given to outstanding Nursing personnel employed in central, State/UTs, Private, Missionary and Voluntary Organizations.

Florence Nightingale

  • Florence Nightingale was an English social reformer, statistician and the founder of modern nursing.
  • Nightingale came to prominence while serving as a manager and trainer of nurses during the Crimean War, in which she organised care for wounded soldiers at Constantinople.
  • Her efforts to formalize nursing education led her to establish the first scientifically based nursing school—the Nightingale School of Nursing, at St. Thomas’ Hospital in London.

Source : Times of India