What is National Medical Commission (NMC)?

1 min read
What is National Medical Commission (NMC)? Blog Image


The Supreme Court recently issued a clear directive to the National Medical Commission (NMC) to submit details regarding the stipend status of medical colleges across all States.

About National Medical Commission (NMC):

  • It has been constituted by the National Medical Commission Act, 2019, which came into force on September 25, 2020.
  • It replaced the erstwhile Medical Council of India (MCI). It regulates medical education and medical professionals in the country.
  • It grants recognition of medical qualifications, gives accreditation to medical schools, grants registration to medical practitioners, monitors medical practice, and assesses the medical infrastructure in India.
  • Headquarters: New Delhi
  • Functions:
    • lay down policies for maintaining high quality and high standards in medical education and make necessary regulations on this behalf;
    • lay down policies for regulating medical institutionsmedical researches and medical professionals and make necessary regulations in this behalf;
    • assess the requirements in healthcare, including human resources for health and healthcare infrastructure
    • take such measures, as may be necessary, to ensure compliance by the State Medical Councils of the guidelines framed
    • exercise appellate jurisdiction with respect to the decisions of the Autonomous Boards;
    • lay down policies and codes to ensure observance of professional ethics in the medical profession and to promote ethical conduct during the provision of care by medical practitioners;
    • frame guidelines for determination of fees and all other charges in respect of fifty percent of seats in private medical institutions and deemed to be universities which are governed under the provisions of this Act;
  • Composition:
    • It consists of 33 members, including the Chairperson (medical professionals only), 10 ex-officio members and 22 part-time members.
    • Medical Advisory Council: It provides the platform through which the States or UTs can put forth their views and concerns before the NMC and advises the NMC on measures to determine and maintain minimum standards of medical education.
    • Four autonomous boards:
      • Under-Graduate Medical Education Board
      • Post-Graduate Medical Education Board
      • Medical Assessment and Rating Board
      • Ethics and Medical Registration Board

Q1: What is AYUSH?

AYUSH is an acronym for Ayurveda, Yoga & naturopathy, Unani, Siddha, and Homoeopathy, a consortium of indigenous systems of allied medical sciences. It was devised in 2003 to change the name of the Department of Indian Systems of Medicine and Homoeopathy (ISM & H).

Source : MBBS Internship : Supreme Court Directs NMC To Submit Details Of Stipend Paid To Interns By Medical Colleges In All States