National Social Assistance Programme

1 min read
National Social Assistance Programme Blog Image


Recently, the Comptroller and Auditor General of India submitted the report on the performance audit of the National Social Assistance Programme from 2017-18 to 2020-21.

About National Social Assistance Programme:


  • It was launched on 15th August, 1995.
  • Objective
    • It is a social security and welfare programme to provide support to aged persons, widows, disabled persons and bereaved families on death of primary breadwinner,belonging to below poverty line households.
  • Eligibility
    • For getting benefits under NSAP the applicant must belong to a Below Poverty Line (BPL) family according to the criteria prescribed by the Govt. of India.
    • The other eligibility criteria and the scale of central assistance under the sub - schemes of NSAP are as follows
  • Presently NSAP comprises of five schemes, namely –
    • Indira Gandhi National Old Age Pension Scheme (IGNOAPS): The eligible age for IGNOAPS is 60 years. The pension is Rs.200 p.m. for persons between 60 years and 79 years. For persons who are 80 years and above the pension is Rs.500/ - per month.
    • Indira Gandhi National Widow Pension Scheme (IGNWPS): Widow aged 40 years will get  pension is Rs.300 per month. After attaining the age of 80 years, the beneficiary will get Rs.500/ - per month.
    • Indira Gandhi National Disability Pension Scheme (IGNDPS): An individual aged 18 years and above and the disability level has to be 80% wil get Rs.300 per month and after attaining the age of 80 years, the beneficiary will get Rs 500/ - per month . 
    • National Family Benefit Scheme NFBS) : In the event of death of the bread – winner Rs. 20000/ - will be given as a lumpsum assistance to the bereaved household. The breadwinner should have been between 18-60 years of age. 
    • Annapurna: The scheme aims at providing food security to meet the requirements of those eligible old aged persons who have remained uncovered under the IGNOAPS. Under this programme 10 kgs of food grains (wheat or rice) is given per month per beneficiary
  • Nodal Ministry: Ministry of Rural Development


Q1) What is  Social security?

Social security refers to a government program or system designed to provide financial support and assistance to individuals or families in times of need. The primary goal of social security programs is to ensure a basic level of economic security and well-being for citizens.
Source: CAG: Govt diverted funds of pension schemes for publicity of other schemes