NITI Aayog Governing Council

1 min read
NITI Aayog Governing Council Blog Image


The Eighth meeting of the NITI Aayog Governing Council concluded at the new Convention Centre in Pragati Maidan in New Delhi.


  • What is it? The Governing Council, which embodies NITI Aayog's objectives of cooperative federalism, presents a platform to discuss inter-sectoral and federal issues to accelerate the implementation of the national development agenda.
  • Timeline: The First Meeting was held in February 2015, the Second Meeting in July 2015, the Third Meeting in 2017 and the Fourth meeting in June 2018.
  • Composition: The Governing Council of NITI Aayog comprises the –
    • Prime Minister of India, Chief Ministers of all the States and UTs with Legislatures and Lt. Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands,
    • four Union Ministers as ex-officio members and
    • three Union Ministers as Special Invitees.


Q1) What are the duties and functions of President of India?

The primary duty of the president is to preserve, protect and defend the constitution and the law of India as made part of their oath (Article 60 of Indian constitution). The president is the common head of all independent constitutional entities.

Source: PM says, Centre, States must work as Team India to ensure ideal Amrit Kaal; Presides over NITI Aayog Governing Council meeting