What is the Nobel Foundation?

1 min read
What is the Nobel Foundation? Blog Image


The Nobel Foundation recently withdrew its invitation for representatives of Russia, Belarus and Iran to attend this year’s Nobel Prize award ceremonies.

About Nobel Foundation:

  • The Nobel Foundation is a private institution established in 1900 based on the will of Alfred Nobel.
  • The Foundation manages the assets made available through the will for the awarding of the Nobel Prize in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature and Peace. 
  • It represents the Nobel Institutions externally and administers informational activities and arrangements surrounding the presentation of the Nobel Prize. 
  • The Foundation also administers the Nobel Symposium Program.
  • Headquarters: Stockholm, Sweden.
  • Organizational Structure:
    • The assets of the Foundation are managed by the board of directors.
    • It consists of seven members and two deputies who are either Swedish or Norwegian.


Key Facts about Nobel Prize:

  • The Nobel Prizes are prestigious international awards presented annually in recognition of outstanding contributions to various fields.
  • Recipients can be both individuals and organisation. 
  • They were established in accordance with the will of Alfred Nobel, a Swedish inventor, engineer, scientist, and philanthropist who left the majority of his fortune to fund these prizes.
  • They were first awarded in 1901 and have been awarded annually ever since.
  • Categories:
    • There are six Nobel Prize categories: Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature, Peace, and the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel (commonly referred to as the Nobel Prize in Economics).
    • Each prize is awarded by a separate Nobel Prize-awarding institution based in Sweden or Norway, except for the Peace Prize, which is awarded in Oslo, Norway.
  • Selection Process: Recipients are selected by various committees based at institutions in Sweden and, in the case of the Peace Prize, a committee appointed by the Norwegian parliament.
  • Ceremony:
    • The Nobel Prizes are traditionally awarded on December 10th each year, the anniversary of Alfred Nobel's death.
    • The award ceremonies take place in Stockholm, Sweden, for all prizes except the Peace Prize, which is awarded in Oslo, Norway.
  • Nobel Medals and Diplomas: Each laureate receives a gold medal, an individualised diploma and a sum of money.


Q1) Who was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2023?

The 2022 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to three organizations:

  • Ales Bialiatski, a Belarusian human rights activist and political prisoner.
  • Memorial, a Russian human rights organization that was shut down by the Russian government in 2021.
  • Center for Civil Liberties, a Ukrainian human rights organization that promotes democracy and civil society.

Source: Nobel Foundation withdraws Russia, Belarus and Iran's invite to prize ceremony