North Sea Summit

1 min read
North Sea Summit Blog Image


Recently, nine European countries during the second North Sea summit have signed a declaration aimed at transforming the North Sea into a green power plant

About the North Sea Summit:

  • It is the second summit which was held in the city of Ostend, Belgium.
  • Participant countries: Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands Norway, and the United Kingdom
  • Objective: To make the North Sea the largest green energy centre in Europe by accelerating the deployment of offshore wind turbines.
  • The summit sets ambitious targets including the production of at least 120 gigawatts (GW) of offshore wind energy in the North Sea by 2030
  • The first summit in 2022 had Esbjerg Declaration which was held in Denmark.

Key Facts about the North Sea

  • It is the northeastern arm of the Atlantic Ocean located between the British Isles and the mainland of northwestern Europe.
  • It is bordered by
    • The island of Great Britain to the southwest and west.
    • The Orkney and Shetland Islands are to the northwest.
    • Norway to the northeast, Denmark to the east.
    • Germany and the Netherlands to the southeast.
    • Belgium and France to the south.
  • It is connected to the Atlantic by the Strait of Dover and the English Channel and opens directly onto the ocean between the Orkney and Shetland Islands and between the Shetland Islands and Norway.


Q1) What are offshore wind turbines?

Offshore wind turbines are wind turbines that are installed in bodies of water, such as oceans or lakes, rather than on land. These are typically larger and more powerful than their onshore counterparts, and they are often installed in areas with strong and consistent wind patterns.

Source: 9 European nations set to turn the North Sea into green power plant