Northeast Monsoon

1 min read
Northeast Monsoon Blog Image


The India Meteorological Department (IMD) recently announced the onset of the northeast monsoon over South India.

About Northeast Monsoon:

  • India receives rainfall during two seasons.
  • About 75 per cent of the country’s annual rainfall is received from the Southwest monsoon between June and September.
  • The Northeast monsoon, on the other hand, occurs during October to December, and is a comparatively small-scale monsoon, which is confined to the Southern peninsula.
  • Also called the winter monsoon, the rainfall associated with the Northeast monsoon is important for Tamil Nadu, Puducherry, Karaikal, Yanam, coastal Andhra Pradesh, Kerala, north interior Karnataka, Mahe and Lakshadweep.


Source : All India Radio