National Sports and Adventure Awards 2023

1 min read
National Sports and Adventure Awards 2023 Blog Image


Recently, the President of India presented the National Sports and Adventure Awards 2023 at a function in Rashtrapati Bhavan.

About National Sports and Adventure Awards 2023

  • National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports.
  • Categories of National Sports Award
    • Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award: It is considered India’s highest sporting honour, the Khel Ratna was established in 1991-92.
    • The award is named after the Indian hockey legend, Major Dhyan Chand
    • The award is given for outstanding performances in sports spanning over a period of four years and the Khel Ratna winners receive a medallion, certificate and a cash prize.
    • Arjuna Award: It is awarded for consistent good performance over a period of four years. The winners of the Arjuna Award receive a statuette of Arjuna, a certificate and a cash prize.
    • Dronacharya Award: It was instituted in 1985, is India’s highest sports honour for coaches. It is awarded to individuals for producing medal winners at prestigious international events.Awardees receive a bronze statue of Dronacharya, a certificate and a cash prize.
    • Major Dhyan Chand Award: This award represents India’s highest honour for lifetime achievements in sports. Presented for good performance and contributing towards the promotion of sports in an individual capacity since 2002, the winners get a Dhyan Chand statuette, a certificate and a cash prize.
    • Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy (MAKA): It was instituted in 1956–1957. It is given to an institution or university for top performance in inter-university tournaments over the last one year.
    • Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar: Awarded to organisations or corporates (both private and public) and individuals for playing a role in the area of sports promotion and development over the last three years, the Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar has been a fixture in the National Sports Awards list since 2009.

Q1) Who is Maulana Abul Kalam Azad?

He is theologian who was one of the leaders of the Indian independence movement against British rule in the first half of the 20th century. He was highly respected throughout his life as a man of high moral integrity.

Source: President Droupadi Murmu presents National Sports and Adventure Awards 2023 at Rashtrapati Bhavan