Ohio-class Submarine

1 min read
Ohio-class Submarine Blog Image


A US nuclear-powered Ohio-class submarine was recently deployed in the Middle East to help prevent the Israel-Hamas war from spiraling into a broader conflict.

About Ohio-class Submarine

  • The Ohio class is a class of nuclear-powered submarines currently used by the United States Navy. 
  • They are the largest submarines ever built for the U.S. Navy.
  • The US Navy has a total of 18 Ohio-class submarines, which consist of 14 ballistic missile submarines (SSBNs) and four cruise missile submarines (SSGNs). 
  • The SSBN submarines are also known as "Trident" submarines and provide the sea-based leg of the U.S. nuclear triad.
  • The 14 SSBNs together carry about half of U.S. active strategic thermonuclear warheads. 
  • They were designed specifically for extended war-deterrence patrols. 
  • Features:
    • The class's design allows the warship to operate for about fifteen years between major overhauls.
    • Each of these submarines is provided with two complete crews, called the Blue crew and the Gold crew, with each crew serving typically on 70- to 90-day deterrent patrols. 
    • They can travel at speeds of 30+ knots and remain submerged indefinitely.
    • Each SSBN submarine is armed with up to 24 Trident II submarine-launched ballistic missiles (SLBM).
    • Each SSGN is capable of carrying 154 Tomahawk cruise missiles, plus a complement of Harpoon missiles to be fired through their torpedo tubes.

Q1) What is the Nuclear Triad?

A nuclear triad is a military strategy where a country has nuclear weapons on three different platforms: land-based missiles, submarine-launched missiles, and bombers. This strategy is designed to make sure the country can deliver nuclear weapons in many ways, making its nuclear deterrent stronger and more resilient.

Source: US Submarine In Middle East To Prevent Gaza War From Expanding: Pentagon