What is Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC)?

1 min read
What is Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC)? Blog Image


India recently rejected a statement issued by the OIC on a judgment of the Supreme Court upholding the abrogation of Article 370 that guaranteed special status to Jammu and Kashmir.

About Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC)

  • It is the second-largest intergovernmental organization in the world after the United Nations, with a collective population reaching over 1.8 billion.
  • It was established in September 1969 upon a decision of the historical summit that took place in Rabat, Kingdom of Morocco, on September 25, 1969, as a result of the criminal arson of Al-Aqsa Mosque in occupied Jerusalem.
  • The OIC is the collective voice of the Muslim world to ensure and safeguard their interests in economic, social, and political areas. 
  • Objective: It aims to preserve Islamic values, safeguard and defend the national sovereignty and independence of member states, and contribute to international peace and security. 
  • It has a membership of 57 states spread over four continents. 
  • Headquarters: Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.
  • Official languages: Arabic, English, and French.
  • Among the OIC’s key bodies are:
    • The Islamic Summit, the Council of Foreign Ministers (CFM), the General Secretariat, in addition to the Al-Quds Committee and three permanent committees concerned with science and technology, economy and trade, and information and culture.
    • There are also specialized organs under the banner of the OIC, including the Islamic Development Bank and the Islamic Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization, as well as subsidiary and affiliate organs that play a vital role in boosting cooperation in various fields among the OIC member states.
  • The OIC partners with international mechanisms (including every specialized UN agency), governments, and civil society organizations (CSOs) to address issues of concern to its member states and Muslims worldwide.

Q1) What is the Arab League?

Arab League, also called League of Arab States (LAS) is a regional organization of Arab states in the Middle East and parts of Africa, formed in Cairo on March 22, 1945. The founding member states were Egypt, Syria, Lebanon, Iraq, Transjordan (now Jordan), Saudi Arabia, and Yemen.

Source: ‘Ill-informed, ill-intended': India rejects statement by Organization of Islamic Cooperation on Supreme Court verdict on Article 370