1 min read
Orangutan Blog Image


Recently, four police personnel from Red Hills including a sub-inspector were suspended after an inquiry report found that they had let off a group of men who had smuggled into the city two orangutan

About Orangutan:

  • These are exclusively arboreal which means they live among the trees of tropical rainforests.
  • According to the World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF), there are three species of orangutans: Bornean, Sumatran and Tapanuli.
  • They feast on wild fruits like lychees, and figs, and slurp water from holes in trees.
  • Orangutans can live up to 50 years, but they have a relatively low reproductive ratev because females only give birth once every 5-10 years. 
  • Bornean and Sumatran orangutans differ a little in appearance and behaviour. While both have shaggy reddish fur, Sumatran orangutans have longer facial hair.
  •  Sumatran orangutans are reported to have closer social bonds than their Bornean cousins.
  • Bornean orangutans are more likely to descend from the trees to move around on the ground.
  • Conservation status

               IUCN: Critically Endangered



Q1) What is an IUCN Critically Endangered species?

Critically Endangered (CR), a category containing those species that possess an extremely high risk of extinction as a result of rapid population declines of 80 to more than 90 percent over the previous 10 years (or three generations), a current population size of fewer than 50 individuals, or other factors