Orkney Islands

1 min read
Orkney Islands Blog Image


An iconic Orkney Islands is looking at ways to split off from the U.K. and potentially become a self-governing territory of Norway.

About Orkney Islands:


  • It is an archipelago consisting of 70 individual islands, of which only 20 are inhabited.
  • The Orkney Islands can be found roughly 10 miles off the north coast of Scotland. 
  • The islands have been inhabited since prehistoric times and are home to numerous archaeological sites, including Neolithic stone circles, chambered tombs (such as Maeshowe).
  • The four monuments that make up the Heart of Neolithic Orkney are unquestionably among the most important Neolithic sites in Western Europe.
  • These are the Ring of Brodgar, Stones of Stenness, Maeshowe and Skara Brae.
  • Heart of Neolithic Orkney is designated as UNESCO world Heritage site.


What is archipelago?

  • An archipelago is a term used to describe a group or chain of islands that are closely scattered in a body of water, such as a sea, ocean, lake, or river.
  • These islands are typically formed through geological processes such as volcanic activity, tectonic movements, or the accumulation of sediment.


Q1) What is the Neolithic period?

The Neolithic period, also known as the New Stone Age, was a significant period in human history characterized by the transition from a nomadic, hunter-gatherer lifestyle to settled farming communities. It is considered a major milestone in the development of human civilization.

Source: Scotland’s iconic Orkney Islands considering quitting Britain to become part of Norway