PEN Pinter Prize

1 min read
PEN Pinter Prize Blog Image


Recently, the British children’s writer and performance poet Michael Rosen has been awarded the prestigious PEN Pinter Prize 2023.

About PEN Pinter Prize:


  • It was established in 2009 in memory of Nobel-Laureate playwright Harold Pinter. 
  • The winner must be the author of a significant body of plays, poetry, essays, or fiction of outstanding literary merit, written in English.
  • It is given to a writer from the UK, Ireland and the Commonwealth whose work is committed to a fearless exposition of truth about contemporary life.
  • The prize is shared with an international writer of courage selected by English PEN’s Writers at Risk Committee in association with the winner. 
  • This half of the prize is awarded to someone who has been persecuted for speaking out about their beliefs.
  • Some of the Previous this award winning writers are Malorie Blackman(2022), Tsitsi Dangarembga (2021) Hanif Kureishi (2010), Salman Rushdie (2014), and Lemn Sissay (2019).


Who is Michael Rosen?

  • He is known for making poetry accessible to children through his work and performances and themes are often social, political and ethical.
  • In over 140 books, he has championed a way of writing for children which reflects their everyday worlds, using humour and wordplay to validate their imaginative ways of thinking.


Q1) What is Nobel Prize ?

The Nobel Prize is a set of prestigious international awards given annually in several categories to individuals and organizations who have made outstanding contributions in their respective fields. It is given for six categories.

Source: Michael Rosen wins this year’s PEN Pinter Prize: A glimpse into the work of the children’s writer