Pradhan Mantri Garib Kalyan Anna Yojana (PMGKAY)

1 min read
Pradhan Mantri Garib Kalyan Anna Yojana (PMGKAY) Blog Image


The government recently extended the Pradhan Mantri Garib Kalyan Anna Yojana (PMGKAY) scheme for another five years.

About Pradhan Mantri Garib Kalyan Anna Yojana (PMGKAY)

  • It was launched by the Indian government in April 2020 as a response to the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • It is designed to provide financial assistance to economically weaker sections affected by the pandemic.
  • The scheme encompasses the distribution of 5 kg of free food grains each month, along with cash transfers to women and elderly individuals.
  • It was introduced as part of the broader Pradhan Mantri Garib Kalyan Package, aiming to offer relief to those adversely affected by the pandemic, especially the poor and marginalised.
  • As per the scheme, the government offers 5 kg of free food grains each month in addition to the subsidised ration given to families covered by the Public Distribution System under the National Food Security Act. 
  • Eligibility Criteria: The benefits of PMGKAY are accessible to families meeting specific eligibility criteria.
    • Families belonging to the Antyodaya Anna Yojana (AAY) and Priority Households (PHH) categories will be eligible for the scheme. PHH is to be identified by State Governments/Union Territory Administrations as per criteria evolved by them. AAY families are to be identified by States/UTs as per the criteria prescribed by the Central Government:
    • Households headed by widows, or terminally ill persons, or disabled persons, or persons aged 60 years or more with no assured means of subsistence or societal support.
    • Widows, or terminally ill persons, or disabled persons, or persons aged 60 years or more or single women or single men with no family or societal support or assured means of subsistence.
    • Additionally, all primitive tribal households, landless agricultural labourers, marginal farmers, rural artisans/craftsmen such as potters, tanners, slum dwellers, and persons earning their livelihood on a daily basis in the informal sector like porters, coolies, rickshaw pullers, hand cart pullers, and other similar categories in both rural and urban areas are also eligible for the scheme.
    • All the citizens are eligible who belong to Below Poverty Line families.

Q1) What is the National Food Security Act (NFSA)?

The NFSA provides a legal right to persons belonging to “eligible households” to receive food grains at subsidized price– rice at Rs 3/kg, wheat at Rs 2/kg and coarse grain at Rs 1/kg — under the Targeted Public Distribution System (TPDS).The Act legally entitled up to 75% of the rural population and 50% of the urban population to receive subsidized food grains under TPDS.

Source: Free grain distribution to 81.35 cr poor under PMGKAY scheme extended for 5 years, says I&B minister Thakur