Prime Ministers' Museum and Library (PMML) Society

1 min read


The Nehru Memorial Museum and Library (NMML) has officially been renamed the Prime Ministers' Museum and Library Society recently.

About Prime Ministers' Museum and Library (PMML) Society


  • Status: It is an autonomous institution under the Ministry of Culture, Government of India.
  • Location: It is housed in the historic Teen Murti campus located south of Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi.
  • PMML is dedicated to the objective of promoting advanced research on Modern and Contemporary India.
  • History:
    • Designed by Robert Tor Russel and built in 1929-30 as part of Edwin Lutyens' imperial capital, Teen Murti House was the official residence of the Commander-in-Chief in India.
    • In August 1948, after the departure of the last British Commander-in-Chief, Teen Murti House became the official residence of independent India's first Prime Minister, Jawaharlal Nehru, who lived here for sixteen years until his death on May 27, 1964.
    • On Jawaharlal Nehru's 75th birth anniversary on November 14, 1964 Dr. Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan, President of India, formally dedicated the Teen Murti House to the nation and inaugurated the Nehru Memorial Museum.
    • On 1 April 1966, the Government set up the Prime Ministers Museum and Library (PMML) Society to manage the institution.
  • PMML has four major constituents, namely-
    • Memorial Museum;
    • Library on modern India;
    • Centre for Contemporary Studies;
    • Nehru Planetarium;
  • Administration: The General Council and the President and the Vice-President of the PMML Society are nominated by the Central Government.


Q1) Which is the official residence of the Indian Prime Minister?

7, Lok Kalyan Marg (formerly known as 7 Race Course Road) is the official residence and principal workplace of the Indian Prime Minister.

Source: Change in name of NMML to Prime Ministers' Museum and Library comes into effect