Project Veer Gatha 3.0

1 min read
Project Veer Gatha 3.0 Blog Image


In the 3rd edition of the Veer Gatha Project, a remarkable 1.36 crore school students hailing from all states and UTs across India have participated.

About Project Veer Gatha 3.0

  • Project Veer Gatha was instituted under Gallantry Awards Portal (GAP) in 2021.
  • Aim: To disseminate the details of acts of bravery of the Gallantry Awardees and the life stories of these brave hearts among the students so as to raise the spirit of patriotism and instill amongst them values of civic consciousness.
  • As part of this, the students framed different projects through various media like art, poems, essays and multimedia on these gallantry award winners and best projects were awarded at national level by the Ministry of Defence and the Ministry of Education.
  • Under the Veer Gatha Project 3.0, following activities have been conducted
  • Activities at the School Level: Schools have conducted various projects/activities and have uploaded a total of 04 best entries from each school, on the MyGov portal.
  •  Simultaneously, to bring about awareness among school students about the Gallantry Award Winners of our country, the Ministry of Defence, through its field organisations or Army/Navy/Airforce, has organized virtual/ face-to-face awareness programmes/sessions for schools across the country.

What are Gallantry Awards?

  • They have been instituted by the Government of India to honour the acts of bravery and sacrifice of the officers/personnel of the Armed Forces, other lawfully constituted Forces and civilians.
  • These gallantry awards are announced twice a year - first on the occasion of the Republic Day and then on the occasion of the Independence Day.
  • Three gallantry awards, namely Param Vir Chakra, Maha Vir Chakra and Vir Chakra, were instituted by the Government of India on 26th January, 1950.
  • Thereafter, the other three gallantry awards, i.e. the Ashoka Chakra Class-I, the Ashoka Chakra Class-II and the Ashoka Chakra Class-III were instituted in 1952. 
  • These awards were renamed Ashoka Chakra, Kirti Chakra and Shaurya Chakra, respectively, in 1967.
  • Order of precedence: The order of precedence of these awards is the Param Vir Chakra, the Ashoka Chakra, the Mahavir Chakra, the Kirti Chakra, the Vir Chakra and the Shaurya Chakra.
  • All the gallantry awards may be awarded posthumously. 

Q1: What is Kirti Chakra?

It is a military decoration awarded by the Indian government to honor acts of gallantry and bravery in the face of the enemy during wartime or in extraordinary circumstances during peacetime. It is one of the highest peacetime military decorations in India.

Source: More than 1.3 crore school students participate in ‘Veer Gatha Project 3.0’