Key Facts about Pyrenees Mountains


08:39 AM

1 min read
Key Facts about Pyrenees Mountains Blog Image


The French President recently hosted Chinese President Xi Jinping at the Tourmalet Pass in the Pyrenees for private meetings.

About Pyrenees Mountains:

  • The Pyrenees are a chain of mountains in southwestern Europe that form a natural border between Spain and France. 
  • It is a fold mountain chain created by the continental collision of the microcontinent of Iberia with the massive Eurasian plate.
  • They are quite old mountains incomparison to the Alps.
  • It extends for about 500 kmfrom the coasts of the Mediterranean Seain the east to the Bay of Biscay (Atlantic Ocean) in the west.
  • At the eastern end, it is six miles wide and 80 miles wide at the center. 
  • Politically, it is divided into the Spanish and French Pyrenees. The tiny country of Andorra is found sandwiched between them, in the eastern part of the Pyrenees Mountains.
  • It separates the rest of continental Europe from the Iberian Peninsula.
  • The western end of the Pyrenees Mountains merges with the Cantabrian Mountains, located in the northern part of the Iberian Peninsula.

Located in Spain, Aneto Peak, is the highest mountain peak in the Pyrenees Mountains (3,404 m).

Q1: Which countries border the Mediterranean Sea?

22 countries and one territory (Gibraltar - a British Overseas Territory) have coasts on the Mediterranean Sea. The European Countries are Spain, France, Italy, Malta, Monaco, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Albania, and Greece. The West Asian (Middle Eastern) countries bordering the Mediterranean Sea are Turkey, Syria, Lebanon, Israel, the Palestine Gaza Strip and the divided island of Cyprus. Five North African nations have coasts on the Mediterranean Sea: Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya and Egypt.

Source: Xi Jinping and Emmanuel Macron's Personal Diplomacy in the French Pyrenees