1 min read
QUAD Blog Image


Indian Australian Diaspora Foundation (IADF) is set to host a grand community reception in honour of Prime Minister Narendra Modi ahead of the QUAD Leaders' Summit slated to take place in Sydney in May 2023.

What is Quad Grouping?

  • The grouping of four democracies –India, Australia, US and Japan– is known as the quadrilateral security dialogue or quad.
  • The aim of this grouping is to ensure a free and open international order based on the rule of law in the Indo- Pacific.

What are the objectives of the Quad?

  • The group’s primary objectives include
    • maritime security,
    • combating the Covid-19 crisis, especially vis-à-vis vaccine diplomacy,
    • addressing the risks of climate change,
    • creating an ecosystem for investment in the region and
    • boosting technological innovation.

Evolution of Quad: 

  • Following the Indian Ocean tsunami, India, Japan, Australia, and the US created an informal alliance to collaborate on disaster relief efforts.
  • Quad as a formal group was first mooted by Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe in 2007.
  • However, due to Chinese resistance and reluctance shown by India, it could not move ahead.
  • Later, during the 2017 ASEAN Summits, all four former members re-joined negotiations to revive the quadrilateral alliance.
  • The Quad was upgraded to the ministerial level in September 2019.
  • In March 2021, the first-ever summit of QUAD leaders took place virtually.
  • It was participated by the PMs/Presidents of all the member countries. The summit was hosted by US.
  • Later, in September 2021, the first in-person meeting of Quad leaders was hosted by the US.


Q1) What is cause of climate change?

Burning fossil fuels, cutting down forests and farming livestock are increasingly influencing the climate and the earth's temperature.

Source: IADF set to host grand community reception in honour of PM Modi ahead of QUAD Leaders' Summi