Ramon Magsaysay Award

1 min read
Ramon Magsaysay Award Blog Image


Recently, Oncologist Ravi Kannan, has been named one of the four winners of the 2023 Ramon Magsaysay Award.

About Ramon Magsaysay Award: 

  • It is Asia’s premier prize and highest honor, celebrates greatness of spirit and transformative leadership in Asia.
  • The Ramon Magsaysay Awardees, annually selected by the RMAF board of trustees, are presented with a certificate and a medallion with an embossed image of Ramon Magsaysay facing right in profile.
  • From 1958 to 2008, the Award was given in six categories annually:
    • Government Service: To recognize outstanding service in the public interest in any branch of government, including the executive, judicial, legislative, or military;
    • Public Service: To recognize outstanding service for the public good by a private citizen;
    • Community Leadership: To recognize leadership of a community toward helping the disadvantaged have fuller opportunities and a better life;
    • Journalism, Literature, and Creative Communication Arts: To recognize effective writing, publishing, or photography or the use of radio, television, cinema, or the performing arts as a power for the public good;
    • Peace and International Understanding: To recognize contributions to the advancement of friendship, tolerance, peace, and solidarity as the foundations for sustainable development within and across countries; and
    • Emergent Leadership: To recognize an individual, forty years of age or younger, for outstanding work on issues of social change in his or her community, but whose leadership may not yet be broadly recognized outside of this community.
  • It is presented in formal ceremonies in Manila, Philippines on August 31st, the birth anniversary of the much-esteemed Philippine President whose ideals inspired the Award’s creation in 1957.


Indian winners on the list

  • Prominent Indians who have won the award include Vinoba Bhave in 1958, Mother Teresa in 1962, Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay in 1966, Satyajit Ray in 1967, Mahasweta Devi in 1997.
  • In recent years, Arvind Kejriwal (2006), Anshu Gupta of Goonj (2015), human rights activist Bezwada Wilson (2016), and journalist Ravish Kumar (2019) have won the award. 


Q1) What is Nobel Prize?

The Nobel Prize is a set of international awards given annually in recognition of outstanding achievements in six categories: Peace, Literature, Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, and Economic Sciences. The prizes were established by the will of Alfred Nobel, a Swedish inventor, engineer, and industrialist, who left most of his fortune to fund these awards.

Source: Assam-based oncologist among winners of 2023 Ramon Magsaysay Award